Presidential Decree No. 1 otherwise known as the Integrated Reorganizational Plan (IRP) in 1972, mandated through Letter of Implementation No. 1, the establishment of Regional Offices making every region in the country, a mini Department of Education and Culture.         

However, it was DEC Memorandum No. 57, s. 1975, dated May 6, 1975, which delineated the Plan of Action in the implementation of IRP. The memo set forth the selection of Regional Directors and Officers-in-charge from among the Schools Superintendents who upon assumption of office will serve the region in full time basis. The memo further declared that representations be made for the release of allotment for the basic operations of the regional offices, provision of office space, salaries of personnel, operation and maintenance expenses and essential furniture equipment.         

By virtue of Department Order No. 21, s. 1975 dated July 16, 1975, the Administrative Division, Finance and Budget Division, Elementary Education Division, Secondary Education Division and Tertiary Education Division were created with their corresponding rules. Likewise, Provincial or City Offices now referred to as the Provincial or City Schools Division were set up.         

Eventually, the creation of the Staff Services of the Department of Education namely the Planning Service, Financial and Management Service, the Administrative Service and the Information and Publication Service came after as stipulated in Department Order No. 24, s. 1975 dated July 29, 1975.         

In consonance with the directives, the Schools Superintendents of Iloilo, Mr. Napoleon D. Dignadice of Ajoy, Iloilo, Region VI assumed office as the first DEC Regional Director on March 24, 1975 through Regional Memorandum No. 4, s. 1975. This also brought forth the merger of existing divisions within the province and the phasing out of existing city divisions that did not meet the criteria as separate schools divisions.         

With the framing of the different divisions in the newly organized Regional Office, personnel were deployed from April 22, to June 30, 1975.         

Mr. Dominador B. Raneses, the Assistant Schools Superintendent of Daet, Camarines Norte took office as Assistant Regional Director with 35 personnel forming the skeletal force of the different divisions.         

On July 30, 1975, Regional Memorandum No. 14, s. 1975 brought to the field the following key personnel in the DEC, Region V: Mrs. Rosario C. Vibar – Administrative Officer III

Mrs. Lilia T. Arevalo – Budget Officer III

Mr. Edgardo G. Datar – Head Elementary Supervisor , Elementary Education Division

Mr. Felix R. Tomas – Chief Educational Supervisor

Mr. Salvador O. Aldave – Head Educational Supervisor , Secondary Education Division

Ms. Araceli G. Cuento – Chief Educational Supervisor , Higher Education Division

Mr. Dionisio Abejuela – Head Educational Supervisor , Higher Education Division , Supervisor I

Dr. Soledad Vicencio – Supervising Dentist         

Of these pioneer workforce, Mr. Fermin Aquende was designated to the further structuring for the new regional office. He named the teachers who would be detailed as clerks, messengers and janitors rolled into one and he was the man of the house who identified the ideal site of the new office. The administrative staff was the 2nd floor of the present Albay Division Office, Legazpi City, while the promotional staff was housed at the Administrative Building of Bicol College, Daraga, Albay.         

For 17 years, these twin offices had been witnesses how a young and thriving regional office stood the tests of time then gained the prestige it truly deserves.