This website adopts the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0) as the accessibility standard for all its related web development and services. WCAG 2.0 is also an international standard, ISO 40500. This certifies it as a stable and referenceable technical standard.

WCAG 2.0 contains 12 guidelines organized under 4 principles: Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, and Robust (POUR for short). There are testable success criteria for each guideline. Compliance to these criteria is measured in three levels: A, AA, or AAA. A guide to understanding and implementing Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 is available at:

Accessibility Features

Shortcut Keys Combination Activation Combination keys used for each browser.

Chrome for Linux press (Alt+Shift+shortcut_key) 
Chrome for Windows press (Alt+shortcut_key) 
For Firefox press (Alt+Shift+shortcut_key) 
For Internet Explorer press (Alt+Shift+shortcut_key) then press (enter)
On Mac OS press (Ctrl+Opt+shortcut_key)

Accessibility Statement (Combination + 0): Statement page that will show the available accessibility keys. 
Home Page (Combination + H): Accessibility key for redirecting to homepage. 
Main Content (Combination + R): Shortcut for viewing the content section of the current page. 
FAQ (Combination + Q): Shortcut for FAQ page. 
Contact (Combination + C): Shortcut for contact page or form inquiries. 
Feedback (Combination + K): Shortcut for feedback page. 
Site Map (Combination + M): Shortcut for site map (footer agency) section of the page. 
Search (Combination + S): Shortcut for search page. 

Press esc, or click the close the button to close this dialog box.

This is an accessibility statement from Department of Education – Region V.

Conformance status

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) defines requirements for designers and developers to improve accessibility for people with disabilities. It defines three levels of conformance: Level A, Level AA, and Level AAA. Department of Education – Region V is fully conformant with WCAG 2.1 level AA. Fully conformant means that the content fully conforms to the accessibility standard without any exceptions.

Compatibility with browsers and assistive technology

Department of Education – Region V website is designed to be compatible with the following assistive technologies:

  • All browsers


Accessibility of Department of Education – Region V website relies on the following technologies to work with the particular combination of web browser and any assistive technologies or plugins installed on your computer:

  • HTML
  • CSS
  • JavaScript
  • WordPress

These technologies are relied upon for conformance with the accessibility standards used.

Assessment approach

Department of Education – Region V assessed the accessibility of Department of Education – Region V by the following approaches:

  • Self-evaluation
  • External evaluation


This statement was created on 13 September 2023 using the W3C Accessibility Statement Generator Tool.